Slovenia is a Central European country situated between the Adriatic Sea and the Alps. It borders Austria, Italy, Hungary and Croatia. Its shape resembles a hen.



Slovenia covers an area of 20,273 square kilometres and has approximately 2 million inhabitants.

Slovenia’s capital city is Ljubljana with 300,000 inhabitants.


Slovenia has a Mediterranean climate at the coast. The climate in the rest of the country is continental, with warm summers and cold winters. If planning to see the central part of Slovenia, the best time to visit is spring, autumn and summer for enjoying the coast.

Slovenia is a democratic republic founded on June 25, 1991.

The Slovenian currency is the Slovenian Tolar.


(All photos by Slovene National Tourist Board)

© MMC RTV Slovenija | 1999 - 2021 | Vse pravice pridržane | Kontakti